Monday, 17 Jun 2024

VFL/AFL Premiers

Sports enthusiasts and AFL fans, get ready to dive into the rich history of the VFL/AFL Grand Finals! Since the first Grand Final in 1898, this iconic event has captivated audiences for over 125 years. Let’s take a journey through time and explore the winners and memorable moments that have shaped this prestigious competition.

The Evolution of the AFL Finals

The AFL finals system is a thrilling culmination of the top eight teams battling it out for glory. Traditionally held in the last week of September, the Grand Final match showcases the pinnacle of Australian football. However, in recent years, there have been some changes to the rules. For instance, tied grand finals now result in extra time, consisting of two five-minute periods. If a tie persists, play continues until the next score.

Grand Final Winners and Remarkable Records

The honor of winning the most Grand Finals goes to Collingwood, with an impressive tally of 16 victories out of 45 appearances. In addition to Collingwood, Essendon and Carlton also have 16 premierships to their names. Notably, Collingwood achieved an extraordinary feat by winning four consecutive grand finals from 1927 to 1930.

Not every team has had the chance to reach the grand final, with Gold Coast being the only current team yet to make an appearance. However, in 2016, the Western Bulldogs defied the odds and secured their first Grand Final appearance since 1961, defeating the Sydney Swans by 22 points.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  Darts: A Popular Pub Game with Rich History and Simple Rules

Another remarkable turnaround occurred in 2017 when the Richmond Tigers went from finishing 13th on the ladder to winning their first premiership in 37 years. This stunning achievement solidified their place in AFL history.

AFL Grand Final Winners Through the Years

For a comprehensive list of AFL Grand Final winners, please visit our website. You can also explore related pages such as the Norm Smith Medal, awarded to the best player in the AFL Grand Final, and the Grand Final Sprint Winners.


Q: Why are VFL premierships counted as AFL premierships?
A: Since the VFL transitioned into the AFL in 1990, the two leagues have essentially become one. The teams remain the same, and while there may be differences in structure and rules, the spirit of the competition remains intact. Therefore, VFL premierships are rightfully regarded as AFL premierships.

Q: Which team has won the most AFL premierships?
A: Carlton and Essendon have each won the most premierships, with a combined total of 32. This includes both AFL and VFL premierships.

Q: Has any AFL team won a Brownlow Medal and premiership in the same year?
A: Yes, several players have achieved this impressive feat. The Brownlow Medal is awarded to the best and fairest player in the league, while the premiership goes to the winning team in the Grand Final.


The VFL/AFL Grand Finals have a storied history that spans over a century. From the dominance of teams like Collingwood to the remarkable comebacks and underdog triumphs, this competition has provided countless memorable moments for fans worldwide. As we celebrate the achievements of past and present winners, we eagerly anticipate future Grand Finals that will undoubtedly add more chapters to this incredible AFL story. Make sure to visit our website for more information and stay up to date with the latest AFL news.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  What is the Beep Test Called?