CDR: Zvukoprocessor [2005]

Part One
Part Two
Part Three

With no obvious information, and little in the way of sleeve notes, I am assuming that ICE is a transcript of a sound installation, or a series of experimental sound works. What we have here is an ultra limited edition, presented in a sexy little translucent pocket; simple, but very attractive. Nothing is given away by the niveous title, nor the individual names of the three short pieces - imaginatively entitled 'PART ONE', 'PART TWO', and yes, you guessed it… 'PART THREE'. So we are left with only sound as our access point into the shadowy nether world of the Seventeen Migs of Spring.

'PART ONE' opens with a messy scribble of electronica, chaotic instrumental manipulation and apparently random digital tweakery, infused with the spirit of Musique Concret – imagine Christian Colon sprawled across a dissecting table crossed with a lobster and… la la la – I’m sure you’ve guessed it – its ART darling, but it’s all kinda been done many times before, and better.

The Seventeen Migs emerge stronger and leaner in 'PART TWO', where restraint is the order of the day, and the electronica settles into a more structured, and cohesive soundscape – the gentle rasp of bass strings and grating wire, a subtle rumble, and I am transported to a diluted Test Department of the early 80’s (Compulsion perhaps, or Mirbach, minus TD’s awesome percussive power). Strange and haunting stuff – but who exactly are the Seventeen Migs of Spring?... we can only wonder…

'PART THREE', and sounds are given room to blossom, rich tones swell and decay, occasionally penetrated by twittering samplerdelics and dislocated warbles followed by speaker- rippling sub bass sinewaves – I’m liking this much better- The Seventeen Migs’ world suddenly becomes more accessible, and everything that preceded suddenly seems to make sense. There is nothing particularly original here, no boundaries being pushed at, no genres being crossed – but I sense that this is not so important where these artists are concerned.

The three pieces here have been approached with a playful mindset, and I get the impression that a unique result is not what they intended to produce – there is the distinct spirit of genuine experimentation, the simple, unadulterated joy of artists working and crafting their chosen medium- each piece a sketch if you like, something that will inform a larger body of work at some future juncture… I’m guessing of course, but hopefully not too far wide of the mark. This is sonic alchemy, and in the final analysis, hugely engaging and enjoyable.


[Seventeen Migs Of Spring] / [Zvukoprocessor]

Direct Link:

Our Zvukoprocessor Page